Little Blue and Little Yellow…Finally!

Little Blue and Little Yellow are dots–they are great friends. One day they hug and become two green dots. At first, Little Blue and Little Yellow’s parents are stunned by their transformation. Eventually Their parents learn to hug other dots too.

During my first semester of library school I did a research project on Leo Lionni. I had the best time reading through his classic work but I couldn’t get my hands on a copy of Little Blue and Little Yellow (his first children’s book). I came a cross a copy the other day and was able to sit down tonight and read it. While it’s not my favorite Lionni–I found it to be charming. Leo Lionni displays a complicated concept through utterly simple art. The scraps of paper Lionni arranges to tell this story show just enough to give us the main idea while letting us fill the “white space” with our own context. This is a great companion to contemporary works like Press Here by Herve Tullet and Dot by Patricia Intriago.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

